What She Wanted

If her expectations
were for me
to recognize
her talent

If she wanted me
to tell her
just what I thought
how I felt about
what she wrote

If she needed my support
my kind words,
my acknowledgement
the way she did things
the way she put herself
into what she did,

What she wanted
from me
was something she already
had
she had the talent
which was recognized
and honored,
she reaped the praise
of others, needing not
what I thought
what I felt, she should
do

She did what I had
expected of her
growing, learning
accepting the lows
and the highs
laughing and crying
being what I knew her to
be
without having to say it

What she wanted
what she got

The essential parts being,
of who she was…..

One thought on “What She Wanted

Leave a Reply

