Posted in Life, Poetry, Prose, Prose California

Being Reminded

The past
seemingly a frequent visitor
as of late
hasn’t yet decided to pack
its bags and leave me alone
for a while,

Too much of anything
either good or bad
tends to wear thin
on my patience

I’ve had to reach down deep
within myself, looking
searching, discussing, wondering
having to ask questions
that cannot be answered

A one-sided discussion
an argument that never ends
an opponent that fights back
relentlessly, unyielding
I cannot win, what I cannot see

Each day brings the hope
of resolution, forgiving,
peace of mind, and yet
it seems as if the questions continue
to outnumber the answers

The past
being reminded of things
that which I cannot change

That which continues to change
me

Author:

Just an American lost in Denmark. The past few weeks being back in the good old USA. It is like Aliens have taken over my mind, changing it from what I knew to what I know. It might be the heat, or it might be the influence of hearing English 24 hours a day, but whatever the cause, it is only temporary while dealing with this time and space.

Leave a Reply

