Along the Edge

Along the edge
I walked
not knowing
exactly why
following the fine line
between me and you
sometimes being so wide
as to swallow me up
while other times
being so narrow
as to hide the smallest fingerhold
the narrowest gap
the thin area
comprising your smile,
I wanted,
but not anymore than what
you had to offer,
that being the most fulfilling
the sweetest cup of water
for my parched and needing
soul,

Along the edge, I balanced
throwing my hands out
to the side,
hoping against hope
that someone like you
would catch me,
would grab my hands
and pull me close
closer than anyone else
had done before,

Along the edge
the boundary
of my imagination
using all of my learned skills
using all of my inherent wisdom
using all of my fondest wishes

Along the edge
I walked
not knowing
exactly why
following the fine line
between me and you
following the undulations
the curves in the road
the rises and falls
the difficult patches
downhill and up

Smooth sailing
being only a metaphor
an idea of when life
was less difficult
than what comprised
most of the other times

Along the edge…..

Leave a Reply

