She Used to

She used to tell me
tell me of her life
her hopes and her fears
stopping just short of

She used to tell me
what she wanted from
what her lover could do
to bring out the best, the best
stopping just short of

She used to tell me
sobbing, clutching me
shaking over her entire body
stopping just short of

She used to confide
her darkest dreams,
waking sometimes, screaming
pleading, hoping for
stopping just short of

She used to be
close to me, closer yet

She used to, she wanted to

and I wanted to, as well,
but something stopped me
stopping just short of

And then, she was gone
what she wanted to say
what I wanted to tell her,

stopping just short of
stopping just short of

us,

Leave a Reply

