Posted in Life, Poetry, Prose

Chasing Death

Peek a boo!
playing hide and seek
with death

No, not it’s younger brother
or, aged mother
but death, itself

I’ve wondered about it
my whole long life
when will we meet
just it and I
on a darkened street
in the middle of my vacation
on a lonely road
my eyes tired
and weary, asking
tempting

Have I brushed with it?
some might ask
just once or twice,
but the thought of surviving
my feat of death
suffering through the agony
waiting for death to take its
rightful place,
was not for me
not yet, it seemed

We have danced together
the dance of death
it has been close enough to touch,
but it chose to touch others
near me, instead

Why did it not consult
with me,
ask me why it needed to take
my mother, my father
now my younger sister?
why must I remain,
asking such questions
receiving no answers?

Lurking it does
around the next corner
along the way to where I am going
just behind me, getting nearer

Fickle it is
taking someone next to me
without my knowledge
someone I knew,
someone, I wouldn’t know
anymore,

Not long to go
it might say to me
how long is long?
A long life, a life span
getting longer all the time
will I live to be 100?
will I get the chance to choose?

Death started laughing
without stop
who will choose?
who will die?
who will live, a bit longer
anyway?

We had a good laugh together
death and I
that was funny, I admit
thinking that it was I that was in
control,
thinking that it was I that chose
when my time was up,
over and out, finished, having bought the farm,
or kicked the bucket

So many ways to say it
so many ways to experience it

Is it painful
dying that is?
who do I ask
who can tell me
is it only angelic
listening to the trumpets of heaven
blowing in my ears
listening to the sound of my breathing
growing weaker all the time,
is it just, a walk in the park
a stroll on the moon,
or, soft as a baby’s bottom

will I smile inside
will I welcome the change of pace
the change of venue
the end of all ends?

Silly of me, isn’t it
questioning death like this?
most would choose to avoid
the most important subject
in their lives
most would choose to ignore
to scoff, to drive the fastest cars,
and love the most beautiful women,
dare to walk tightrope over the Grand Canyon
or, jump out of an airplane, waiting
waiting to pull the cord
so close to the ground
to touch it

I guess, it’s better to take a stroll
no need to hurry here
no need to chase the inevitable, or
go looking for it,

It most likely will find me in the end
something as certain as taxes

and death…..

Author:

Just an American lost in Denmark. The past few weeks being back in the good old USA. It is like Aliens have taken over my mind, changing it from what I knew to what I know. It might be the heat, or it might be the influence of hearing English 24 hours a day, but whatever the cause, it is only temporary while dealing with this time and space.

Leave a Reply

