A Cat, on Her Shoulder

She had a cat
not a bird to sing
nor a mouse to scream at
just a cat, perched upon
her shoulder

Every time, I reached over
trying to steal a kiss
or, just an affectionate
look, I risked
a hiss, a swipe of
an angry paw
ending up
in a kiss, whatever

She had a flat
overlooking a blank
wall,
smoke rising, in and around
and her flowers
in the windowsill,

“Did you see it?”
she’d ask
as we held each other
a random glare, a ray
of sunshine,
a look of wonderment,
the purr of a feline

sitting on her shoulder

I wondered aloud
while still in bed,
the three of us,
I in my most correct
place,
next to her, while the cat
sat, and stared
as if I didn’t belong
anyway,

When we travel, soon
away from here,
going to there,
will our love fade
will our time fade
into night?

She stirred, and cooed
as if my words were
of delight and astonishment
as if my words had reached the limit
the end of our times
the gradually growing larger
space between us

The cat stretched
arching its back
curling up at my feet,
purring, eyes closed
just as she,
just as she,

She had a cat
not a bird to sing
nor a mouse to scream at
just a cat, perched upon
her shoulder
and I, I was at her side
traveling along life’s
highway,
just the 3 of us,

purring along…..

Leave a Reply

