Posted in Denmark, Travel

Beer Tasting in Aalborg, Denmark

The other night after work, I attended “Beer Tasting” sponsored by our employee club at work.

It started out innocent enough, with one beer, a small plastic cup and a lot of anticipation from the 15 or so participants.

The first beer was a Pilsner, which tasted all right, but our expectations wouldn’t just accept a normal tasting beer like that. We might as well have been drinking Tuborg or Carlsberg, which are known over the whole world.

belgian

Beer number 2, Belgian Tripel was a far cry from the first Pilsner. Things were looking up, and the chips and nuts began to fly as well.

drunken sailor

I apologize for not setting things in the correct order, but there was talking, and laughing, and my boss to my right who felt that I wasn’t enjoying myself enough with those small cups of beer, so he helped me attain another state of reality.

all beers

Beer number 3, named Drunken Sailor began to resemble a simple evening get-together after work with some friends, turned Christmas Party with cares and worries forgotten, as well as why we had been there in the first place?

The beers became darker, as shown with the above two: Dark Ale and Anker Porter. I imagined working on a Danish Oil Platform somewhere in the North Sea, drinking, or perhaps pumping up the last two beers, which resembled motor oil, and tasted nothing like the first 3, more proper types.

Our host told of their stories, and the musical entertainment was throbbing silently in the background, when my head told me that tomorrow would be less fun than today. Unfortunately, my memory wasn’t listening at the time, which made me continue to enjoy myself, while the beer flowed.

When the party/tasting was over, some of the rest of my best buddies wandered/weaved over to the local Pub in order to continue the high as long as possible, while I chose to go home and consider sleep instead.

I’d like to tell you that the next day dawned as brightly as the previous one, but my head told me to keep my eyes closed, drink a lot of water, and not think too much about the night before.

Beer Tasting, Danish Style

PS Someone asked me the next day if my hair hurt? Yes, it did, but I probably had worn a hat of the incorrect size the night before…

Author:

American living in Denmark.

One thought on “Beer Tasting in Aalborg, Denmark

Leave a Reply

