Posted in Poetry, Prose

Closing Eyes

My eyes keep closing
though, I be awake
tiredness beckons
but I resist, I resist

There is no shame
in rest
but I resist all the same
thinking that these moments
being awake, being alive
will benefit me,
will add to the greater good?

The blurriness
suggests though,
that the greater good
would actually encompass
the ability for me to rest
to rejuvenate, to recharge
this tired body and mind

Everything to its own time
suggesting the best course
of action

is to sleep…

Author:

Nothing to waste your time on.

Leave a Reply

