While the Coffee

While the coffee
grows cold in the cup
the last strains
the last music
someone like Pink Floyd
singing a familiar tune,
echoing in the background
not making the coffee
be any warmer,
but as you might know
cold coffee won’t be
resurrected again,
not on this side of the flavor
still residing near my taste buds
telling me that more coffee
won’t bring back that taste
the one that starts the new brew
the memory being renewed,
with the taste radiating,
re-awakening my senses
and sharpening my wit,

While the coffee
was still warm in the cup
and my fingers were sliding
along the keyboard,
it might have been with me
thinking about someone like
Neil Young instead,
while the processes that cause
my warm delight to fade to cold

Increase as the music fades to black..

Leave a Reply

