The Cold

The cold wraps around
my fingers, making it
difficult to grasp,
Grasping this day, cloudy
and cold, winds blowing
has though not stopped me
from journeying outside,
where I am not in control
anymore,

My warmest thoughts
and most positive intentions lack
the warming touch of her caring fingers
showing me once again, how special
she really is to me,

Back inside
the warmth pushes the cold away
as feeling returns to my forlorn digits
lacking, however, someone to ask of why
I chose to brave the elements on such
a less than hospitable day such as today?

Perhaps, it was to remind me
how fragile we can become
subjected to the elements,
wandering alone in this life,
without someone there
waiting with those warm intentions
that I was lacking, while alone outside

today

Leave a Reply

