My Past Loves

Do my past loves
deserve the memories
I still possess today?
Should their pictures
be painted with warm memories
passionate kisses, longing looks?
or, is waxing the nostalgic
a bit too much to bear?
We did, we lusted, we turned away
words of anger, and remorse
wanting it to be like the first time
like the first look-
Remembering how she used to look
deep down inside me, reading my thoughts
waiting to hear, “I Love You too,”
The pain of separation, the ugly head
of jealousy, raising its head, laughing,
I wonder how my past loves would paint
my own picture,
in what we meant to each other,
why we did, how we lusted, how I didn’t say
what they wanted to hear?

My past loves
and I….

Leave a Reply

