How Much Do We Really Know Someone?

How much do you know me
my eye color, my favorite dish
the way I did that
when I was 5 year’s old?

How much do we know
about the secrets we keep?
the dark sides of us,
the hidden sides too,
what do you really know
of who I am?

How did you do that?
when you were young as well
when you didn’t know me
or, want to
even if I danced in front of you
waving my red flag
wearing my heart
on my sleeve

How much do we really want
to reveal of ourselves
how much of the past
what we were, once
who we loved
why we are, who we are
today?

The things, I won’t admit to others
probably are the same
that I won’t admit to myself
we are so complex
in how we think, what we know
how we love

Even how we want
to be loved…

And that might be
the greatest secret

of them all…..

Author: notthedane56

My early morning thoughts have been spilling out upon my virtual paper, still free of worldwide computer vira, as far as I know? Just think, if my words actually were the result of an infection, corrupting and twisting the truth as others know it? Sounds a bit like blogging...

3 thoughts on “How Much Do We Really Know Someone?”

  1. I have had this theme in my head for a while now. I have come to the conclusion that we will never really know anyone. We may not even fully know ourselves. I appreciate your words because they pulled the thoughts out of my head. Things were getting crowded in there. 😂

    Like

    1. Hi there. Thanks for the comment. Who are we now? Are we the same as we were 20 years ago? I keep thinking that I am the same, more or less, but if I met someone today, that last met me those 20 long years ago, they would probably disagree. What were my secrets back then? Did I tell anyone? Probably not, but then that is one of the things that makes us unique, isn’t it?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. There is an expression I’ll paraphrase that only when we look back can we see change. Day to day feels the same with little to know movement. But man look back and everything is different. Maybe because change is incremental we don’t see/feel it as it occurs.

        Like

Leave a Reply

