Sitting by the Fire

I thought about
her again
all those times
we wanted to share
our lives together
all those times
seen in my rear-view
mirror, fading to black

All the times
I reached out
expecting to touch
her face, hands,
feeling her warmth
on those cold, winter nights
like the fire, burning
embers glowing
like her cheeks
after I kissed her,

She is gone now
out and about
just not with me
by her side,
the things we wanted
yearned, and fought for
the times that ate minutes
then hours, days
I couldn’t spend enough time
trying to convince her to stay
trying to convince her

Sitting by the fire
shivering in the cold thoughts
of her embers fading away
ashes couldn’t keep me warm then

Just as they can’t keep me warm
now

Leave a Reply

