The Incongruity

The incongruity
of star-crossed lovers
separated by time, and space
never touching
always yearning

-she touched my face
tracing a path down from my eye
as if a tear, unseen ran along
the lines of our lives

do you remember, she whispered
do you remember when we last….

Her memory
burned like a fire unending
I held my hand to my face
remembering, when she touched me
when we were together
in our thoughts,

We didn’t talk about
not being together again,

Those thoughts were reserved
for my daydreams, regrets
not saying what I really felt
how I was going to miss her touch
the incongruity of being who we were

Star-crossed lovers

Leave a Reply

