As Big As Chicago

As the morning light

played upon her sleeping form, I heard

her sigh, and moan

knowing how late, her visit to the City Lights was

and how fun it must have been, while the alcohol flowed

which made me tuck the blanket closer to her

and stand there, just smiling

knowing how, when she woke, her head would hurt

a hurt as big as Chicago

and it would be bad, if I were to turn up the stereo

as loud as the City of Los Angeles…..

Which I wouldn’t do, being who I am

but as she had met someone, who lay next to her right now

who wasn’t me, then I might just think again

of those Mega-Cities, and their gentle morning

sounds….

Leave a Reply

