Renovation

I’ve been renovating
my thoughts
cleaning out
cobwebbed corners
and cluttered intentions
taking time to reconsider,
her

Tossing out the odd box
of my memories
of how she was
Wondering why
I’d kept them
all of these years
like treasures, unclaimed

Her photo, faded
and torn about the edges
never looking like the first time
nor feeling like the last time

Some might have thrown
old memories out
long before
the clutter began

Taking up too much space
from the present
making me miss her
just like before

Those many years before,
when I kept her memory

alive…..

Leave a Reply

