The Mouse Sneezed

The mouse sneezed
my heart ached
the stars in the heavens winked out
one by one
as the sun rose in the sky

Lacking a tissue
and someone to share my love
as the Earth turned
and the day began
anew,

The sun in my eyes
made me trip
on something that ran across the floor
while thinking of my true love
and shedding a tear

A sneeze welled up inside
a partially squashed rodent
lying on the floor
of some building

Not far away from
my love and I, exhausted
after a night of passion
watching the sun rise
over our lives

– over our lives…..

Leave a Reply

