The Floor Creaked

The floor creaked
my muscles ached
my eyes adjusted
to the morning fog

Just around the corner
the City of Copenhagen
lurked

I craned my neck,
and tried to see
the castles and towers,
-the City asleep,

The floor still creaked
and my eyes ached
and the fog still shrouded
my warmer intentions

Just around the corner
out of my sight,
the City went about its business
-while I went about mine

Copenhagen
a word, an entity
encasing its story, its people
while I lurked
around the corner
out of sight

In my own corner
of a City called
Copenhagen…

Leave a Reply

