The Dawn Broke Clear

The dawn broke clear

To give the day

To me


I climbed

not the highest, nor the greatest

just a mountain

calm and free

 

I remember the sun

encased by the biting wind

and sometime clouds

but the warmth remained first

above all else

 

I dreamed a dream

for hours, days, weeks

maybe more:

The images fled before my eyes

and the day returned to sight

the day with the mountains, snowclad

sighting down to vistas unending

My dream today, lost to memory

forgot whatever it dreamed about

it thought my thoughts

and lived my life

leaving me in its place above

High atop, I dream a dream

to live my life gazing outward

waiting for those to pass in stride

waiting for my return…..


Spring 1981

Leave a Reply

