Going for a Smoke

I wish I had

a vice or two,

just to be like everyone else,

on the other side of the fence

 

Playing the field, or having a smoke

gambling the child’s milk money, or painting

the town red, pink and orange,

 

Waking up, in the arms of someone

who didn’t know my wife’s name,

and sneaking out of the door,

before paying the bill,

 

I’ll just go out

and buy a pack of smokes,

and quaff a beer,  or two

and wonder how the other half lives,

with fidelity, and dedication to God, Work and Family

 

A lackluster life, of doing the correct thing,

and bringing home the bacon to the joy

of those who don’t have any imagination

about living high on the hog, instead

 

If only, I had a few vices……

Author: notthedane56

Blogging seems to have changed other people's opinion about me. Never would they have thought that I would take such a step to reveal my innermost thoughts in that way, but then not everyone is strong enough to understand such brilliant madness?

Leave a Reply

