Posted in Cooking, Denmark, Humor, Language

Women and the L-Word

What’s in a word, some might ask? Why should one word be so important?

I’ve said a lot of words in my long life. Some of them, like those that guys utter while in the throes of passion, tend to be meaningless, and not the kind of thing that their partner wants to hear!

I’ve learned a bit about words from times like those – that means to not necessarily say them at all time. Be selective. Choose your words wisely. Don’t mince them, like you would with Garlic.

The worst of these words is the L-word. Why do women get all silly and troublesome with that word? I’ve tried not to use it, as it only seems to get me into trouble, and all things worse. Some might say that it is a word that takes practice and experience to use?

The right word at the right time.

I don’t use it that often, because I know that it demands action, and carries a lot of responsibility with its use. “Have you used the L-word today?” I might ask my friends, but they just shirk away and pretend not to have heard me.

Guys like to change the subject to something less intricate like sports, or cars. “Did you see that Hemi overdrive with 350cc something or other? Yes, she is really hot and bothered, especially when I put my key into her ignition and rev her up!” I don’t know about “Guy-Talk” like that, but it seems like they might as well use the R-word all the same. The R-word? That would be R for relationship, which is almost as bad as saying the L-word, I think/I guess/ I really don’t know?

I have even tried my hand at writing poetry and the like. You know, more words? No, I don’t have Paisley flower wallpaper in my Ultra-Pink Bedroom. Get a grip, OK. Poetry is also for Guys! Even if you don’t use the L-word, or the R-word, then you could always express your Lust for fine automobiles, and wishing yourself a long, slinky, scantily- -clad girl, hanging over the hood of your ruby red Corvette, with no thoughts of using such language with a bloke like you!

I just don’t know anymore, what to say, when it comes to times like these? I guess the use of the L-word is not for the faint at heart, nor those that aren’t prepared to take action after having wielded their language like a sword! Now don’t start pointing your pencils at me again, with your innuendos about phallic references. Think of those pencils that you are pointing…..You see, There is no escape from words and their meanings…

No matter. The issue at hand is of course, the L-word. I’ve used it on my wife plenty of times, but lately it doesn’t seem to have the effect of the past times? Perhaps she has changed her mind about my colorful language, and is seeking new horizons, or perhaps just a newer dictionary?

The L-word? Well, it stands for Lentils, and my 3-bean Lentil Chili is simmering on the stove top as I finish off this blog. If only my wife had told me that Lentils didn’t do that much for her, then perhaps I could have found a better word to use?

Like R for Rutabaga…………

Author:

American living in Denmark.

Leave a Reply

