Posted in California, Denmark, Uncategorized

My First Trip to Denmark – Day 1

My first trip to Denmark was in 1988, and actually started in Washington D.C.

Well, if we go back to the real point of departure, it was Sacramento, Ca.

My now mother in-law would be turning 50, and her daughter, now my wife, wanted to surprise her by traveling from the States to Denmark, and arriving on her doorstep without her prior knowledge.

I too would be making that journey, but that wasn’t until a few days before the actual event, with my last point of departure from the USA being Washington DC.

My sister lived in Fairfax Virginia at the time, so while my luggage was out sightseeing due to an airport mix-up, I decided to take the subway to our nation’s Capital.

washington-dc

All Screen Shots courtesy of Google Maps.

My main concern on that trip was to take the elevator to the top of the Washington Monument (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Washington_Monument) in order to get a bird’s eye view of the city at hand.

You won’t find any skyscrapers here:

Height restriction

Unlike other large cities in the U.S., Washington’s downtown has a low skyline. With the advent of the skyscraper and the construction of the Cairo Hotel, residents were concerned that the city’s European feel might be dwarfed by high-rise buildings. Congress therefore passed the Heights of Buildings Act in 1899, limiting any new building in Washington to a height of 110 feet (34 m). The act was amended in 1910 to allow buildings 20 feet (6.1 m) higher than the width of the adjacent street.[18]

Source: Wikipedia

Here are some photos from the Monument

img295

The White House taken in 1991. President Ronald Reagan, Commander In Chief.

img296

white-house-map

The Ellipse and the White House.

img297

us-capitol

The US Capitol seen to the East of the Washington Monument.

img300

Some office buildings.

img305

lincoln-memorial

Lincoln Memorial and Reflecting Pool

img306

Looking towards Virginia Avenue NW.

The next blog takes us to the ground once again, seeing Washington DC from another angle.

Day 1 continued – Washington DC

 

 

Author:

My profile might reflect who I am, what I think and why I write what I do. My profile might just reveal the inner workings of a deranged mind, a helpless soul, and a self-destructive way of living. Don't worry. I'm OK. I've just lost sight of my little sister in the evening clouds....

2 thoughts on “My First Trip to Denmark – Day 1

Leave a Reply

