A Small Leaf

A small leaf fell

towards the ground, but hesitated

 

My mind held it, aloft

waiting for a nearby breeze,

to take it away,

 

I reached out,

but stumbled on a tree root

which made me look up

to the uppermost branch,

 

The last point of departure, for

the last leaf on its way,

journeying from its mother

with sobs of branches,

and quivering uneasiness

of meeting the great big wide world

away from its loving arms,

 

A small leaf

has made me wonder, and to wish it well

on its life journey,

 

Fly away…..

Author: notthedane56

My heathen tendencies are waiting to blossom at the Mid-Summer Evening in Denmark. In a Country that professes to have an overwhelming population of believers in the Christian Faith, I am always reassured by their pagan ways, at least one night per year. I won't be throwing myself on the bonfire, but I plan on being warmed by the thoughts of the fun-loving Danes, burning witches at the stake, while singing songs and drinking beer!

Leave a Reply

