Fantasy Carrot Cake -Obsessed!

A  lot of people that I know….All right all of them, think that I am a bit on the different side. That is the nice way to put it, since there is no medical evidence to the contrary.

Today, my fantasy journey is taking me along the Cake Walk, without the music. Carrot Cake has been my favorite for as long as I can remember, and if you’ve ever met my memory before, then you know, you’re in for a long trip. My wife doesn’t appreciate me correcting her Danish grammar, because I learned all of those grammatical rules, and remembered them as well, when I learned how to speak Danish over 24 years ago, which usually causes her to tell me that my memory is Træls, or Danish for Lousy!

Never mind.

My carrot cakes have evolved from the classic type to one which doesn’t resemble the first one, other than in the name. While I fantasize about Carrot Cake, my dog is playing with his balls on the floor, which boys seem to like to do, but I don’t have time for such frivolities today.

When I decided to start experimenting with cooking, it just happened to come at the same time when my wife went down with Stress, and couldn’t do much of anything. I took over the buying, cooking, cleaning and whatever, until she felt that “enough was enough” and hit me over the head with her soup ladle!

I chose carrot cake, which always had been my favorite, but didn’t like how the recipe called for using so much oil, and other unhealthy things, so I went the Vegan way. Stop with that  now! I’ve said before that I am not a card-carrying member of that club, and I most likely use soy sauce which is make from fish! I haven’t been chased down the street by my neighbors, nor have I been excluded from writing Fantasy cake blogs, but you never know?

I found a nice-sounding recipe, or two, or three on the Internet, then changed it/them to my liking.

The approximate ingredients are listed here, otherwise I’ll just make them up as I go:

flour

carrots

apple sauce – fresh made using apples, and water

sugar

baking this or that. Soda or powder? Sometimes the one, or both, but definitely one of them

eggs

The ingredients are mixed together, but not at the same time, or place. I prefer to take a short drive to the IKEA parking lot, and use my handy dandy wooden wire whip to mix the wet ingredients, while the dry ones wait their turn at home. It says in the instructions to mix the wet and the dry separately, so I wouldn’t want to step on toes, or get hit in the stomach, unless she was really pretty and intelligent, and her boyfriend didn’t treat her as well, as I felt he should!

But I digress.

I’m pretty sure there also was salt and vanilla extract, but those details will probably  fall  into place after the cake has  started to bake, and it is too late to save it with my extract!

The frosting uses vanilla again, powdered sugar, butter and cream cheese. Don’t worry about mixing the ingredients separately as the sugar part is tricky enough as it is. Don’t use too much dry in the wet, or vice versa, which is something my mother could have told me, instead of watching out for women with fast cars, or was it fast women with slow cars? It doesn’t matter, but you will be sad if you think that you can save the day by adding more sugar, because your boy/girlfriend says so!

The cake should have been placed in the oven at 175 degrees Celsius, or 350 Fahrenheit, which are guesses on my part, with this being a Fantasy Blog. While baking the kitchen is filled with memories of a distant time, when Mom used to wear her baking mittens, and Dad was hiding in his office, looking at Patent Draftsmen Monthly. He never let me look at his magazines, because he said that they were only for consenting adults, but my Mother never admitted to being one of them, so that might be why he kept them to himself?

I can see that all of this baking business has caused me to drift back to my childhood, when Mom and Dad would avoid each other all all costs, and I would play with my toys in my room. Where was I? Oh yeah.

Carrot Cake.

The addition of apple sauce makes the cake more spongy, with that effect being more obvious the next day or so. With the addition of the frosting you’ll find yourself at a crossroads of sorts.: Frosting on – in the Fridge, Frosting off – in the oven. If you are into naked cakes, then by all means store the cake where you desire. It might even turn into a new type of Cake Walk with the whole family taking turns hiding the cake with the winner being allowed to lick the frosting spoon! I might have said that I have licked the bowl a time or two, where the batter had been, but my wife would just scream “SALMONELLA” and  do an evil dance on the kitchen floor. Now I understand my Father much better!

I hope that this blog has benefited your knowledge of Carrot Cake – (semi) Vegan Style, but don’t take my word for it.

It gets more spongy with time, but then we all do that anyway.

Good Eatings!

4 thoughts on “Fantasy Carrot Cake -Obsessed!

  1. If you want the real calories, then you’ll need to visit me in Denmark on Saturday, because this cake will be made the day before. It might be that the sugars are more intense, so if you want less sugar and less spongy, that includes me as well, then you’ll need an earlier flight!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll see what I can do, but that would mean cutting on Elephant skating, and a night of skålling with the sailors… Plus, I kind of wonder what you are like, when you’re more sweet and spongy! Mouahahahah

      Like

Leave a Reply

