Fantasy Chicken Stew with Pomegranate Flourishes

Today’s soup doesn’t really exist, so unless your imagination is very colorful, then you might be disappointed along the way?

Stew can be many things. Sometimes, I don’t even use meat which causes most people to make the sign of the cross and whisper “Vegan” to one another. I’ve tried to tell them over the years that by using lentils and Bulgar, or another grain like rice, then I can make a complete protein as good as one with meat!

But that kind of talk just falls on deaf ears.

Tonight’s stew is a combination of fresh vegetables, and those that have been languishing away in my refrigerator. The cabbage can almost speak, and the celery is getting a bit spongy in its appeal!  Don’t get me wrong, I haven’t been visited by Mr Mold as yet, but it would be a shame not to use, what I’ve already used money on!

I’m starting with some chicken, which I’ll be frying a bit in some oil in a deep pot on the stove. I really should turn on the fan, otherwise the lights will drown in condensation, and the chicken splatter will be everywhere, but it is very noisy, and my wife might not be able to complete the next level of Pet Rescue on Facebook with too much spectacle in the background?

While the chicken is frying, I’ll be adding onions, carrots and celery to the mix., then after a few minutes of cooking, covering the whole she bang with water.Then I have some parsnips, and beets with the potatoes coming in last, but not least. Oops, I’ve forgotten the salt. Some have said that it either has too little or too much salt, but I’ll let you be the judge of that.

Here is a spoon. I’ll take some of the sauce, Watch out! It is hot. Wait and I’ll blow on it a bit. It’s kind of like pizza, it looks good enough to attack when still in the box, but then you’ll be telling yourself the next day, it was worth burning your tongue and roof of mouth by not waiting a few minutes more! There now. That’s better. Enough salt?

I can see by the nodding going on that I have enough, or just enough salt this time around.

I forgot to tell  you that I have indeed added the lentils and the Bulgar, but most of you have guessed that by now anyway.

I’ve decided to take the chicken out of the stew and let it cool. I could have left it in, but then the others would be fighting over who was getting what, thereby ruining the meal fit for Danish Kings/Queens that was set before them. I’ll de-bone the chicken, then add the meat to the stew in a few more minutes.

Oh, I’ve also added red bell peppers, and some chicken bouillon cubes, just because and no  other reason than  that!

While the soup/stew is finishing up, I’ll be peeling that pomegranate, that has been residing on my kitchen counter since New Year. I’ve thought about it before, but have always done something else than peel and eat it. That will be known as pomegranate flourishes, as a side dish for my almost done chicken soup!

My dog has been looking hopefully at me while I type this blog. “Anything for me?” he seems to ask, but he knows that fantasy chicken bones can still get caught in his throat, and make our lives miserable!

What about the recipe? you might be asking. Well, this one is only in my thoughts, and if you know anything about me, then you know that it’s better not too dwell too deep down there in the inky depths!

With the soup cooling in the kitchen, and the dog asleep on the floor, my job is done for the day. I hope you find to be as delicious as it looks in my mind, but don’t expect any pictures as yet!

Some things are better left to the imagination…………………

PS One of my fantasy potatoes fell on the floor, and the dog ran away with it. I hope, I can get it back before he tries to eat it….

 

Author: notthedane56

My imagination has been a bit sticky lately. Kind of like the floor at the movies, with soda pop being spilled about, while the kids are spitting popcorn at each other. God how I miss the good old days, when I could remember, what that really meant!

Leave a Reply

