For Amber Waves of Grain

Funny how music affects us.

I was watching the Inauguration yesterday, as was most of the rest of the world, I’d imagine, but was struck, not by the rhetoric, nor the many comments (in Danish) from the commentators, by the music playing in the background.

It’s not every day that I hear “America the Beautiful”, or the “Star Spangled Banner”. Especially when the first song was sung, it brought back memories of being an American, in the USA.

I’m not going to get my mini Stars and Stripes, nor will I comment on the new guy vs. the old guy, but it was the music that really got my attention.

It’s like when I read this post:

https://wordpress.com/read/feeds/54774221/posts/1252577306 about Pearl Harbor.

Again, it was not the subject matter, but the mention of the date 7 December, that awoke a memory in me from my distant past. It occurs every year on that date, but it is no good telling my co-workers about it as they were not born and raised in the Good Old US of A. Pearl Harbor is just a historical event, and not more than that, but it is the date that reminds me of something else.

Yesterday, I got the same feeling, when I heard “America the Beautiful” sung on the steps of the Capitol Building. It reminded me of when I lived in the States, and I didn’t consider the rest of the world, other than wondering about those foreign places, when looking at a map, or hearing/seeing it on the news. We were all Americans, so it didn’t seem to be necessary as having to explain, or defend that idea, as I have done over the last 25 years living in Denmark.

I would imagine that it is not easy governing a Country, big or small, and the person that has that responsibility has a big job ahead. Every elected official makes promises both before and after the election, but it is only time that will show, how those promises will/will not be to anything.

I would like to wish the new guy luck in his endeavors, and hope that he makes good of his 4-year term. I wouldn’t want to take sides in this issue, as everyone deserves a chance in this life to show what they are worth, and he does too.

Happy New Guy USA, and PS – I loved the music!

Leave a Reply

