Considering Moving

Now that I’ve lived in Denmark for 25 years or so, it might be time for a change. I’ve also lived in the United States for 35 years, which added together would make me around 45, or so!

It could be time to try Country number 3? You know, new sights, new people, and perhaps a new language as well. After mastering Danish, and still remembering how to speak Californian, then a new language is not at all that daunting of a task!

I have tried German, and Spanish, but forget French! I guess, those 3 languages could be rated as Good, Bad and Ugly, or better yet: OK, Getting By and Dismal Failure. It doesn’t really matter, as I think it best to travel somewhere in the world, where the major languages are not only not spoken, but are little known as well. The other option is to go somewhere where those languages are known of, but the locals will refuse to speak them, regardless of how many variations of one word you might try to utter!

I might as well visit one of the smaller towns in Northern Jutland and try asking someone, something in English. Shaking ones head in Denmark is not the same as in India. Here it means no, while in India it means yes. “Am I lost?” – answer might be: Yes, No, or we don’t do English here. I could then point out something or other on the wall, cellphone, or a photo of my Danish mother in-law (if I carried one around, that is) and asked, If they recognized her, or pointed me in the right direction, or just nodded as if they really wanted more foreigners living in their Country!

I could also seek an apprenticeship with my brother in-law, who has spoken one of the  Danish dialects for years now.

Here is a map of showing the distribution of Danish Dialects on the Jutland Peninsula:

dialect-kort

Here is an example of an idiom in the language known as Jyske:

”Ka’ du vær en kårl om æ nat, ka du ow vær en kårl om æ daw.”

If you lived in the orange area, this statement might just be Volapyk to you, but then not everyone is in the know about these things.

What does it mean?

Ja, når du kan stå på Sunday og spille sprød til kl. 5 om morgenen, skal du også kunne være frisk til rengøring og svigerforældre dagen efter. Ellers er du ikke en ægte karl.

Source: http://www.euroman.dk/humor/11-geniale-jyske-vendinger-alle-burde-bruge

You see? I wouldn’t have guessed it meant that either, but then I am not a native of this Country.

If you want to hear Danish spoken in its different dialects then check out this site:

http://dialekt.ku.dk/dialektkort/#Nordjylland

By clicking on the dots, you will hear a conversation by the locals in that area. I must admit to having some difficulties understanding this one here:

 

skaeve

Screen shot showing: http://dialekt.ku.dk/dialektkort/#Skaeve

I might just choose to put on my country clothing, and change the language on my cellphone to Jyske, put a hay straw in the corner of my mouth and saunter down to the light green area of Southern Jutland, if of course they are more understandable than the yellows?

Here is a link for (most of) the other Danes who live on the Eastern side of the Country – in and around Copenhagen.

http://www.euroman.dk/kultur/30-tegn-pa-at-du-er-kobenhavner-i-jylland

30 Things that tell you that you are a resident of Copenhagen living on the Jutland Peninsula. Here are 2 of them:

1: Du lærer hurtigt, at en tebirkes hedder ’en københavner’, men du insisterer på at kalde den en tebirkes.

2: Du sælger din cykel efter den første uge.

See my point now? It is as clear as mud for the rest of us who understand regular, dyed in the wool Danish.

I don’t know. Maybe I’ll just remain in Denmark seeing as how there are so many new things to learn, despite having lived her for so many years.

I might also have assumed that the rest of the world could understand Danish, just like me, which means that most of this blog will be lost to some of you, who haven’t considered learning this language of +5million spoken in this Country alone.

+ 5 million! Might seem like a lot to some people, but then

Consider India:

According to Census of India of 2001, India has 122 major languages and 1599 other languages.

Source: Wikipedia

I’ll save that move for my next life………….

Leave a Reply

