Posted in Denmark, Family, Life

Christmas Fun and Games. Danish Style

The second day of Christmas, 26 December is a Holiday for most, but not all.

This day, might be the day of Christmas get togethers, Family or friends, or combinations of them all?

In my wife’s family, this day has turned into a family get together, with fun and games of course.

Pakkespil – loosely translated as “Gift/package game”

Everyone brings at least 2 packages, wrapped. The value is usually minimal, but the wrapping paper makes it look like a million, you know?

All of the “pakker” are put at the middle of the table. 1-2 cups, like those used in Yahtzee, are passed from person to person, with each containing one die. In the beginning, anyone/everyone who rolls a 6 is allowed to take a package. This continues until all of the packages are taken. Now a timer is set, with only one person knowing how long, or short that interval is.

The rules change. Every time someone rolls a 6, a package is allowed to be stolen from one of the other guests, but when someone rolls a 1, one package is passed to the person at your left.

When the time is up, the packages in front of you are yours, and the opening begins.

I’ve tried to take pictures along the way, from beginning to end, to show how many “possible” wins, I might have had!

Let the Games Begin!

img_6492img_6493img_6511img_6512

Nope. Not an incorrect photo. Just been cheated out of my package!

img_6513img_6514

Cheated again!

img_6516img_6518img_6519

Luck didn’t seem to be with me, but there was still love?

img_6520

My daughter’s packages looked good to me!

img_6527img_6528img_6531img_6532img_6534

Someone had just rolled a 6. Not good for me!

img_6535img_6537

The person to my left, my daughter was doing OK.

img_6538img_6539img_6542

We tried not to end up with the packages with red colored wrapping paper, as those were our own gifts. I ended up with these two, and look what was inside:

img_6543

candy, chocolate and a glass Christmas ornament.

img_6546img_6547

img_6544

My daughter’s winnings.

img_6545

More paper for the recycling container!

That ended Fun and Games on 26 December 2016.

Want to play along next year? The party might just be held at my place….

We’ll see in 2017!

 

Author:

American living in Denmark.

2 thoughts on “Christmas Fun and Games. Danish Style

  1. hey, mr. obvious sir? Umm, where is the about page? huh? I know more about denmark now than I ever thought possible but not so much about the guy who wraps fancy packages and takes bazillions of photos of them. I also have to point out that there is a like button after all your comments…just in case you thought Cyranny borrowed yours as well. I saw that tiny little blurb about no about but fail to see anything truly humorous or even funny about no abouts to about with so I demand an about within the next two years. I figure it shall take that long for an about to be understood by your minions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

