What was in my Christmas Stocking?

This year hasn’t been that good to me -Stocking-wise. That’s OK, as I am not much one for the Christmas Ho, Ho, Hos, like the others around me.

Today, being Christmas Eve Day, is one where the family is at home (finally) waiting and enjoying the minutes and (Ow!) hours until the big event. Even though the kids are a bit bigger now than they have been in the past, they still enjoy celebrating Christmas in Denmark!

I’ve take a few photos to show you all, what the day is starting to look like, while the rain pounds down outside. I’m really glad we washed the windows the other day!

img_6383

Oh well. It does make my hard efforts look good, regardless…

 

img_6375

The last presents have been wrapped.

img_6376

And the rice pudding is on the stove, on low heat.

img_6377

I’ve been instructed to stir, many times. Many, many times.

img_6378img_6379

Oranges with whole cloves. A Danish Christmas Thing!

 

img_6381

Christmas Dog. Note the green and red blankets! Very theme orientated.

img_6382

Almost a parting thought from Denmark,

But wait!

What was in my Christmas Stocking?

img204

Why Christmas Socks, of course! It says, “Life is too good for boring stockings!”

God Jul fra Danmark.

 

Oh, by the way. That, “God Jul” changes to “Glædelig Jul”. God Jul – Merry Christmas is used throughout December, while Glædelig Jul – Merry Christmas again, is wished upon others from Christmas Day 1 and 2.

Another Danish Thing. This time from the churchs’ standpoint, and what is traditionally said.

 

God jul hører december til, mens glædelig jul ønskes fra juledags morgen og anden juledag.

Source: http://www.kristeligt-dagblad.dk/bagsiden/forskellen-p%C3%A5-de-p%C3%A5skehilsner

 

Author: notthedane56

Blogging seems to have changed other people's opinion about me. Never would they have thought that I would take such a step to reveal my innermost thoughts in that way, but then not everyone is strong enough to understand such brilliant madness?

1 thought on “What was in my Christmas Stocking?”

Leave a Reply

