Posted in Denmark, Learning, Travel

Skagen’s Art Museum

Have you gotten tired of Skagen yet? Funny, but I never do. Mind you, it is not that often that I am in Skagen, but the once a year visit, is usually a memorable one!

Today, I’ll be showing you the museum, home to the best collection of the artists that made Skagen famous.

Here is the usual Google Maps Screen Shot:

museums-in-skagen

with Skagens Museum being the focus of today’s blog.

The museum has gotten a face-lift, and was officially inaugurated in February 2016. Here is an article for all of you Danish Danophiles out there:

http://www.billedbladet.dk/kongelige/danmark/dronning-margrethe-indvier-skagens-museum

Now then, to be sure everything was on the up and up with my visit, I asked at the main desk, if taking pictures was allowed? No, it was not, but taking photographs was – lucky for me….

Here is a YouTube video found on the Museum’s Website, showing how 454 pieces of art have been placed on the walls after the re-build.

Here is a look at the website:

skagen-museum-website

Found at this address: http://skagenskunstmuseer.dk/udstillinger/ophaengt/

Now that all the other niceties are done with, I have some photos of my own:

museum_1museum_2museum_3museum_4

And if you’d like a different angle on the subject, then try out this photo below!

mikkels-iphone6-pictures-074

I just can’t get enough of the Artists of Skagen, but you might not know them as yet:

http://skagenskunstmuseer.dk/kunstnere/

The really special names of note are: Krøyer, Ancher and Drachmann. These artists are responsible for making Skagen what it is today!

Next Blog: Grenen – The Top of Denmark!

Author:

My profile might reflect who I am, what I think and why I write what I do. My profile might just reveal the inner workings of a deranged mind, a helpless soul, and a self-destructive way of living. Don't worry. I'm OK. I've just lost sight of my little sister in the evening clouds....

3 thoughts on “Skagen’s Art Museum

Leave a Reply

