Posted in California, Dogs, Travel

Mapping My Trip

Los Angeles, California is a big place. So big that one map might just as well fill up a tiny Danish Room, and that might seem to be too much for most Danes!

“Give me a Country that can fit on my bedroom floor” is a common Danish saying, translated into English. Here is the original version:

Give me a Country that can fit on my bedroom floor!

Don’t  you just hate/love Google Translate?

It almost looks like the English translation, just without the quotation marks! Perhaps I’ve wasted too many years learning Danish, when I should have used English instead?

Oh well. Here is my starting point:

los angeles

If you notice the International Airport in the circle on the map? No, the one with the red balloon. Yes, Got it? Great. The large triangle, or Three-Sides (in Danish to English) then you’ll notice the Pacific Ocean. It looked as if it needed a triangle on it, even though it didn’t fit exactly!

The arrows show possible directions of travel, while the circled Interstate numbers are the main traffic-congested routes around this Megalopolis! One of the Interstates didn’t exist when I used to live in LA, so I won’t be taking it so as not to jinx things!

One of my sisters came from East Los Angeles, which is on the upper right side of this rather confusing map, but which tells the story of a young girl, growing up together with her family, who lived in an entirely different city than, where she claimed to have come from!

I’m really looking forward to seeing El Segundo again, which was totally unmemorable in the 70s and 80s, and now has the opportunity of being equally unmemorable in the new millennium!

Upon leaving LA, I’ll be driving to the….wait a minute. You can’t see that on this map. I’ll just include the next one to help you out.

usa

Now you can see the big picture including Canada, which has denied me access to Kamloops, but that doesn’t matter anymore! I’ll be driving from….wait a minute, you can’t see that can you? I’ll just zoom in a bit to help you out:

ca sideways

Now I want you to imagine that you are flying into California from the Pacific. How would you know how it looked, if all maps are traditionally pointed with North being at the top of the map?

I’ve also made some sharp angle changes to the Golden State in order to show you that California’s coastline and its border with Nevada are less than perfect as opposed to a state like Colorado!

colo

Notice how rectangular Colorado is as compared to California! Someone should re-draw the boundaries and make the USA more uniform! Note how North is at the top of Colorado!

colo-90

Here is Colorado as if you were flying in from the Pacific. Note how it still has its rectangular shape, but the writing is all wrong. It might be right, if you can think in right angles, but for the rest of the untrained travelers, the image might be confusing?

But we’ve traveled far from California to Colorado, and that is not the purpose of this blog. I’m not really sure of the purpose, but I’m hoping that it will become more clear to me and Wonder Dog as we journey down My Inner Ear, which just happens to be the title of this site, if you didn’t know that?

Colorado / California or Bust!

(Maps borrowed from Google Maps)

Author:

My profile might reflect who I am, what I think and why I write what I do. My profile might just reveal the inner workings of a deranged mind, a helpless soul, and a self-destructive way of living. Don't worry. I'm OK. I've just lost sight of my little sister in the evening clouds....

Leave a Reply

