A Family Affair

Wow. A day together with my Wife’s Family. I couldn’t think of anything that could be better than that!

And they say, that I don’t understand Irony!

Today we went to a family birthday. Around 20 people were present, about ½ of whom I didn’t know.

Traditionally in Denmark, when entering a room with people, or at a gathering it is customary to shake hands with everyone present.
Dav (pronounced dau), Davs, Goddag (Good Day). Hej (Hi), are some of the most common greetings.

My wife thought we’d be late, but it only turned out to be 10 minutes or so, and the party hadn’t started, when we arrived.

The kids present made a lot of noise, and wanted attention from the adults. I’ve always been good at that, giving them a hard time, some might say, but the kids enjoyed it all the same.

IMG_20160319_144732

It started with Coffee and Cake, but with most other birthday parties, freshly baked rolls with butter, and freshly made hot cocoa comprise the usual Birthday fare. It didn’t matter, because it all tasted nice, with the conversation (all in Danish) reaching the upper limits of noise, which was also perfectly normal for my Wife’s Family.

My son asked why the Danish Flag wasn’t raised, but before wanting to hear the reason, he promptly announced that he would take care of that issue. Flags in Denmark are not to be flying after the sun goes down (in 1½ hours from that point in time) or else it is known as “Flying the flag for the Devil”.

IMG_20160319_170824

At 5pm it was time for pre-made open sandwiches with the following toppings: ham, roast beef, shrimp, eggs, etc.

At 6:30 the sun, according to the Internet, had almost gone down, which meant that we needed to take the flag down. I assisted my son, who told me how to fold it, not letting it touch the ground, and when folded, was not supposed to show any of the white color. He is a scout, you see, and seemed to know his stuff!

The kids having renewed energy started all over again, making noise, and smashing each other.

The adults after eating dinner, said goodbye one by one, repeating the tradition of shaking hands and remarking: Farvel (goodbye), Tak for i dag (Thank you for today).

The sun had gone down when we took our leave. The temperature had dropped below freezing, but luckily the car warmed us up in no time.

That was my day in Denmark. I leave you with one more picture from my cellphone, taken around 5:30 while the sun was slowly fading towards night.

2016-03-19-20-43-56-704

We were actually near a town called Brønden, 130 residents, but depending on where in the house you were with your cellphone, it said different things. While resting on the couch, I was actually in Pulsen, but if I had been in the kitchen, I might have been in Dybvad!

It didn’t really matter, as we knew where we were more, or less.

brønden

Source: Google Maps

In Denmark, that is………………….

 

Author: notthedane56

I am not the important one here. I'm pretty sure who is, but that doesn't always seem prudent to tell about in my "About Me" box. If in doubt, then read a few blogs, add 5+7, then subtract a largish Country to the north of the USA. Answer forthcoming in my next "About Me" box, or not.

Leave a Reply

