Posted in Denmark, Travel

I am on a bus in Denmark’s 4th Largest City

Aalborg is the name of the city.

Aalborg has 160,000 residents and is located in the Northern part of the Jutland Peninsula.

I am on a bus traveling to the City Center – Le centre-ville. There are 2 main parts of Downtown. The first is the area around the bus/train station, called John F. Kennedy’s Plads after USA’s 35th President

Bus depot in middle background, train station on right side – Kennedy Plads.

The next most important area, is the City Center. Here are some photos going along the Main Street, called Boulevarden, from the Bus Station towards Nytorv, The New Square.

Aalborg is a nice city, despite its size. It has a mixture of old and new buildings with one famous Architectural Pearl:  Jens Bangs Stenhus, built in 1623-1624.

IMG_20160107_094155

It has a nice pub in its basement with pleasant atmosphere and ambiance, Danish Style.

I noticed that the Christmas decorations had not yet been removed, but that workers were in the process of removing the Christmas Village, which is erected each year in December. There are a number of small cottages with shops and entertainment to be found during the time up toward Christmas. Santa Claus arrives by boat from Greenland, and is housed in the village, with daily visits by the Children of Aalborg.

The next photo concerns a church, Budolfi constructed the end of the 14th Century, and seen in the background of my photo.

IMG_20160107_094224

Aalborg has a nice tourist information with guided tours in and around the city during the summer months. In the main part of the inner City you’ll find signs such as these, on the corners of buildings, telling a bit of Aalborg’s History about when the street was named, or when it was constructed.

I wouldn’t want you to think that Aalborg is only filled with old buildings and boring streets. For those of you who hunger for that good old taste of home, you’ll also be able to find this place in various locations:

IMG_20160107_110325

My trip to Aalborg has ended for the day. IMG_9176(1)

I am on one of the many buses that service Aalborg. They are modern, clean, and pleasant to be in.

A newer system of paying for your trip, Rejsekort, uses a credit card sized bus card, which is activated by holding it up against the blue circle seen in the background. The card can be “filled up” at the bus station, or via the Internet. Upon leaving the bus, a similar device is found at the exits, thus ending your money commitment for that trip.

I don’t possess a Rejsekort, as I seldom travel by bus. I could also have used a virtual ticket, generated by my Smart Phone, but today I chose to use cash. When I asked the bus driver, if cash was still accepted, he replied, “Yes, as long as it is good old Danish Currency”.

Luckily I had just that!

Here is my bus ticket from this trip into Aalborg.

nt billet

My trip was made early in the day on this cold  Torsdag i Januar 2016. I had the bus to myself, and I was sure to thank the bus driver for the trip upon exiting the bus, “Tak for turen“. I do so, because everyone likes to be appreciated in their jobs, no matter what that job is.

Then, I went to work, and hoped for the same treatment from my customers.

Life, in my portion of Denmark………

 

 

Author:

Just an American lost in Denmark. The past few weeks being back in the good old USA. It is like Aliens have taken over my mind, changing it from what I knew to what I know. It might be the heat, or it might be the influence of hearing English 24 hours a day, but whatever the cause, it is only temporary while dealing with this time and space.

3 thoughts on “I am on a bus in Denmark’s 4th Largest City

  1. Awwwww…… Totally biased, since I like you and Denmark, but thanks so much for this tour!! I got my first kroner today, and I realize that if I was in Aalborg, I could afford 9 chicken nuggets, 2 dipping sauces, AND a trip on the bus around town! That’s pretty nice to imagine!

    Like

Leave a Reply

