Eat your Turnips, they are good for you

You know how mothers are, using a type of psychology that never seemed to work, but they never gave up trying.

My mother always had some sort of food crusade when I was growing up. She had a large blackboard in the kitchen and an ample supply of colored chalk which she used, regardless of my lack of attention on the subject.

You know how sights and smells from our childhood follow us throughout life? Well, I can still hear the squeaking of the chalk on the blackboard, and the endless rainbow mixture of chalk dust colors on the kitchen floor. That might just be my mother’s legacy in a nutshell.

I particularly remember my mother’s crusade with Turnips. “Eat your turnips, they are good for you!” How are they good for me? We weren’t allowed to talk back to our parents, or question their judgement, but I still had my doubts back then. Being an only child, I couldn’t really ally myself with anyone else than our poor dog. I tried to empty my plate, just like my parents said I should, just under the table when they weren’t looking.

“Why does the dog seem to be ill?” my mother would often ask me. “Has he been eating something that disagreed with him?” Got that right, I thought to myself. I just couldn’t break my mother’s heart, not at that time anyway, and tell her that it was the Turnips, or whatever the current vegetable of the month was at that time!

I’ve tried similar arguments with my Children, although I know that they are useless. Remember to eat your Herring! Filled with good old, tasty Omega-3! Eat your fiber, do you want to grow up looking like me?

Alas, it didn’t work with me, so why should I hope that it would work with them?

I decided for my own good, to take up the cause, and return to a Turnip lifestyle here in Denmark. Easier said than done. Where do you find Turnips in this country? Chinese Cucumbers and radishes are commonplace, but Turnips? Guess again.

I looked up Turnips: Kålroe eller kålrabi. OK. Kohlrabi. Wow, I’ve found them once upon a time in our local supermarket. From Germany. German Kohlrabi, but not exactly the Turnips of my childhood.

I asked my mother in later years about her love-affair with Turnips. She admitted to being a bit fanatical about the vegetable thing, but then look how I turned out! As if that were a positive argument in itself?  She could, though, cast some light on the Turnips of my childhood, They were from Canada, of all places! You see, another good reason for adding a Category for Canada in my blogs.

I also thought about Rutabagas (Glaskål in Danish), which made me think about the Rutabaga Boogie Band. They were even from Sacramento, California where I lived once upon a time.

Now I feel, that I’ve come full circle in this blog. I’ve traveled from my childhood to Canada then back to Sacramento, ending up at my childhood and my mother’s ideas.

I still am Turnip-less, but I feel that my crusade is not over yet. Try googling Turnips and Onion Soup, you too might just become a crusader like me…

rutabaga boogie band

Screenshot from YouTube.com

Author: notthedane56

My early morning thoughts have been spilling out upon my virtual paper, still free of worldwide computer vira, as far as I know? Just think, if my words actually were the result of an infection, corrupting and twisting the truth as others know it? Sounds a bit like blogging...

Leave a Reply

