Posted in Life

Black and White Photographs

Way back when, I took a course in Black and White Photography. I printed out in 8×10″, which is close to A-4 in metric.

Those photographs, just like others in color, represent a period in my life, back when I was young(er). I decided to put them on my Facebook page, as I knew they would illicit a response from my Family in the States.

On my course, we would take the film, develop it into negatives, then make a “proof sheet” in order to view our “positives” to determine, which photos deserved to be printed. The funny thing is that as unimportant many of those photos were back then, makes them all the more important today.

I know as well as anyone, that we can’t continue to hold on to the past, but it frustrates me now that those “rejected photos” are but a few pieces of plastic, that may or may not be found clumped together with other just as meaningless negatives in some box. I remember taking them, when I here in the present, see them on the “proof sheets”. I just can’t turn the clock back to do anything about them.

I hope that I never reach a level of indifference with the past that I won’t want to talk about it, or remember that it is a part of me, just like the present is.

In some ways those proof-sheets represent a sort of treasure, which I alone possess, but which I now can share with others.

I guess back then, those photos are like the others are today. “Uh-huh”, and “that’s nice” are some of the things that we all say, but then it’s onward to the next 500 or so, that were taken while on vacation, or perhaps just last weekend.

I’m happy to be able to experience them again. I took them, they still exist, in some timeline or another…

proof-beskåret

Author:

American living in Denmark.

2 thoughts on “Black and White Photographs

  1. There’s something about your black-and-white photos that capture a moment in time better than color photos seem to. Maybe it’s just because they seem like a memory in print, eliciting nostalgia in the viewer, kind of like sepia photos do. And also because so many of them are candid, un-posed, or give that impression, anyway. I love seeing them.

    Like

  2. The proof-sheets remind me of my “rejected” digital photos that I myself purge every so often from our photo backup. Will insists I keep everything we photograph…even the blurry ones, he says, represent a story, a timeline that gets to the point. We may share or frame the apex of that journey: the perfect pose with perfect smile. But the ones that surround that “perfect” shot are often the best ones, the candid shots. They represent life better, I think, then the pictures we choose to keep and cherish.

    Like

Leave a Reply

