Posted in Dogs

Leaning Up Against My Dog

My daughter wanted a dog. We’ve had a rabbit who died, and canaries who flew the coop. A dog was something else. The house was a shambles due to a major re-haul. The tradesmen made the room-addition, while I did the deed on the rest of the house.

“When do we get that dog?”, asked my daughter. I replied, “When we’re finished with the house”. From January to December my leisure time turned into house-time. My vacation was non-existent, as was my patience. As we approached the end of the year, my daughter could see an end to our project.

“Is it now?” she asked. Yes, it was now. We searched the Internet for a suitable race. I even took a test which would determine the best dog for our lifestyle. “How much time, will you allow for walking the dog?”. It seemed that no matter, which answer I selected, no dog would be suitable for us. The choice finally came down to a St Charles or a Poodle. The Poodle won out.

Our dog was not a big dog, but as with babies, we could console ourselves with the thought that he would grow bigger with time. Three (3) kilos. That is his weight. 3 kilos and after 7 years, that will be his adult weight.

My daughter asked a new question, “When Otto dies, I want a larger dog!” It was her choice to get a smaller dog, as she didn’t care for dogs who jumped up and almost knocked her down. Well, it seems that toy poodles have an average lifespan of 15 years!

Larger dogs are just that, larger. When a larger dog jumps onto the sofa or bed, you know that it is there. When Otto jumps up in bed, there is a smaller “puff” as he curls up at our feet. I’ve seen people lean up against their “larger” dogs, sometimes without moving the dog at all. I’m afraid, if I did that with Otto, my daughter might get her wish before Otto reached his 15th year.

That’s why our dog is not a leaner!DSC00419

Author:

American living in Denmark.

Leave a Reply

